Lightening McQueen ~ A Sewing Project

My darling godson turned 3. What to get him I thought…I scoured the shops, picked up toys, flicked through books but nothing stood out and grabbed me.

Something homemade I decided. A t-shirt…no, a hat…no. then boom, the idea was lodged… I wanted to make him a soft snuggly Disney Cars character. A pillow slash bedtime snuggly or just a huge fun car to play with.

Now my daughter went through her car/vehicle/truck phase when she was 1-2 years old and we are firmly in doll, baby, sylvanian family zone with no end in sight. So I have no idea about these car personalities. I think [hope] the red car is the main guy. He certainly seemed to be on Google images!

image

I set about drawing him just to get a feel for the proportions and style. I then mocked up a paper version to form a vague pattern and went from there.

image

I’d love to give you steps but I went with the flow and there is no way I could retell his life history.

image

We hit a few bumps with the wheels [pun intended!] but overall he and I got on well. He was a cheeky fellow at times but forgiving and I made sure I filled him full of love, hugs and kisses.

image

Now to wrap him up for the birthday boy x

image

It always fun when you manage to translate something from mind to creation that looks similar to how you imagined.

Right I’m off to watch the Twilight Breaking Dawn part one. [Yes, I know. I never saw myself as a Twihard either and yes I know the writing is clunky, the relationship dynamics can be criticised, and Bella’s character is not role inspiring for our girls. But. It has provided me some delightful escapism when I’ve really needed it, and I loved it! So there!] Off to indulge [and in case you were wondering – totally Camp Edward]

image

Have a lovely week lovelies
naomi ♡

Leave a Reply

