Altered Hoodie Top ~ Appliqué Style

I am exploring this world of altering clothes. Amazing. 

I found this hoodie in my favourite supermarket in their bargain bins. It has a large motif reminiscent of the Olympics. At £1.99 it was a steal and I was sure I could cover over the pattern.

I am new to appliqué and slowly discovering the tricks and techniques. I’ve worked out the bonda web and I’m now experimenting with stitches. My machine has an appliqué setting which I used for this top.

image

If you have any items of clothing that would benefit from a little appliqué love or you just want to spruce something up,  join me:

→ item to appliqué
→ sewing machine or your fair hands, needle and thread
→ bonda web
→ fabric
→ iron
→ box of maltesers

Measure out the fabric you need and the shape you wish to appliqué.

image

Cut out bonda web the same size as your fabric pieces.

Iron the rough side of the bonda web to your fabric shape. Once it has adhered peel off the backing

image

Iron the shape onto the main piece of fabric and stitch closely around the edge.

image

Keep banda webbing and stitching the pieces together until voilà

image

Hee hee, excuse the cheesy rose. I don’t know what came over me!

Do, do, please do, give me appliqué tips…can you use different stitches? The zigzag seems just a bit cumbersome. And my biggest fear is the fraying.  Quelle horreur!

I’ll keep you posted on any other appliqué projects.

♡naomi

Leave a Reply

