SYTYC Week 1 – Paint Tutorial. Shell Jewellery

For the paint challenge over at So You Think You’re Crafty I wanted to create a fun paint project that people could also make for themselves at home so I decided to transform pebbles and shells into wearable jewellery.

I am in love with corals, mint and navy for this summer’s wardrobe. You may have your own favourite colour combinations. Decide on your colour scheme and rummage through your nail polish collection to find ones that match:

POLYVORE COLLAGE

Mid morning, coffee mug in hand, wander down your garden path and collect small pebbles or get those shoes off and go shell collecting at the beach. Stand back and admire your wares before cleaning to rid them of any soil and sand.

Craft shops sell ring fittings and badge fasteners. I went to two small craft shops in a little town and both stocked a couple of types so I’m hoping it will be easy for you to find them too.

Set about painting your pebbles and shells with your nail polish. Some may need a second coat. I painted the jewellery fittings so that they blended in. The great thing about nail polish is that the brushes are the perfect size for such small items and it leaves a beautiful enamel gloss finish. Plus at the end you can also paint your nails to match!

Paint collage 3

Once dry superglue the pebbles and shells to your fittings. I used a standard all-purpose superglue which if left untouched for an hour or so bonded them perfectly (don’t be impatient like me and try them on after 5 minutes and then nearly glue your fingers together as you grab the falling shell!). To finish you can coat your shell or pebble in a clear polish to avoid any chipping.

Finally, accessorise your favourite outfit with your fun, unique piece of jewellery:

Shell Final - Paint

The world is your oyster *cringe* (sorry. Couldn’t resist!)

 

Don’t forget to head over to SYTYC and vote for this week’s challenge ‘Upcycle’.

 

naomi x

4 thoughts on “SYTYC Week 1 – Paint Tutorial. Shell Jewellery

  1. edenatticus

    I saw shell painting and was ever so excited… I thought: I’ve done this – maybe I am crafty…. Then I read your post and saw the pictures…. So together with the boy, I have coloured some shells with felt tips. You’ve created stunning jewellery I genuinely want to wear. You should sell them. Fab xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

